Skip to content

Wild Boar Prosciutto

July 17, 2011

Wedding photography season is in full effect, so I’m rarely in the kitchen these days.  I was pretty damn excited to get a call from Chad, the sous chef and charcutier at Heartland, and hear that that the wild boar proscuitti that he and I started over a year ago were ready for tasting.

Up next, the mangalitsa proscuitti that have been two years in the making.  Be still my heart…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen permalink
    November 10, 2011 11:58 pm

    Hi Shaun-
    I am a chef and we do our own charcuterie at my restaurant. Someone brought me a wild boar, and while butchering for primals I decided that I wanted to cure it for prosciutto. I have a good basic knowledge of salting and smoking meats, but I have a few questions about preparing the cut and technique and method. Please e-mail if you can help me. By the way, your photograph of the slice of prosciutto is fucking delicious! Thanx in advance.
    -Stephen

  2. November 11, 2011 12:14 am

    Hi Stephen,

    What’s the best email to reach you at? You can either reply via comment with your email address. or you can email me at sliboon@hotmail.com (my junk email box) and I’ll reply to you from my proper email account.

    S

Leave a Reply

